Phantom /

Counterspy Alex Hawke hunts a madman about to unleash a new super weapon--one powered by artificial intelligence. Full description

Main Author: Bell, Ted.
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: New York, N.Y. : William Morrow, 2012
Edition: 1st ed.
Series: An Alex Hawke novel
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Cover Image
Saved in:
Preview
Preview
Preview
Review by Booklist Review

Alex Hawke returns in his most personal mission yet. After hearing a rumor that the love of his life might still be alive in Russia, he risks everything by heading into a potential death trap to uncover the truth. Meanwhile, strange events are ocurring around the globe. A mysterious force makes a submarine captain order the destruction of a cruise ship. A scientist kills his colleagues before turning the gun on himself. Before the situation escalates still further, Hawke is ordered to find the cause. As he globe-trots seeking answers, he fails to realize that a Russian hit squad is following his every move. The usually flamboyant Hawke is somewhat subdued this time around, but the story is tense and exciting. A perfect read-alike for Clive Cussler fans.--Ayers, Jeff Copyright 2010 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

At the outset of bestseller Bell's exciting seventh thriller featuring MI6 agent Alex Hawke (after 2010's Warlord), Alex learns that his lost love, Anastasia Korsakova, the daughter of the present-day yet recently dead Russian czar, is still alive, held prisoner in a high-security Siberian KGB facility. While Alex fears he's being lured into a trap, he travels to Siberia, where Anastasia gives him their son, three-year-old Alexi, for safekeeping. Back in England, Alex throws himself into fatherhood while fending off assassins from an organization of Russian hard-liners who blame Alex for the czar's death. Meanwhile, an Iranian scientist known as Darius has built a computer dubbed Perseus that has almost attained parity with human intelligence. Alex must find Darius and Perseus in order to foil their dastardly plan for humanity. While the two distinct threats make for a sometimes disjointed plot, a terrific, final naval battle shows Alex at his fighting finest. Agent: Peter Lampack, Peter Lampack Agency. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by Library Journal Review

The seventh installment in Bell's Alex Hawke series finds the globetrotting British agent attempting to foil an Iranian computer genius who has lost control of the world's most powerful supercomputer. The machine is enlarging its computing capacity on its own and has the capability of taking over other machines-including weapons-giving it the potential to wipe out humanity. While Hawke and American and fellow British agents rush to prevent worldwide destruction, he also battles Russian gangsters bent on killing him, his son, and Russia's president. VERDICT This fast-paced, over-the-top adventure story possesses enough action and colorful characters to hold the listener's attention. Veteran reader John Shea masterfully narrates this wild tale. Recommended for Bell fans and others who like the genre. ["Hawke's seventh adventure (after Warlord) is an action-packed techno-thriller.... As usual, Bell keeps the tone light and the level of derring-do high," read the review of the Morrow hc, LJ Xpress Reviews, 2/3/12.-Ed.]-Stephen L. Hupp, West Virginia Univ. Parkersburg Lib. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Similar Items